For Teachers K-12

Solar energy topics make excellent math and science education activities.
 
Free Energy Curriculum/Lesson Plans 

No Impact Project [http://noimpactproject.org/educators-middle-high-school-environment-curriculum-html/] This curriculum uses “No Impact Man” — the book and the film — to help middle and high school students explore the effects that their everyday behavior has on the environment, their health, and their well-being. 
 
Classroom Earth [http://www.classroomearth.org] Designed for high school teachers, this Web site includes resources, lesson plans, and other ideas on how to incorporate environmental topics into a science curriculum. 
 
Classroom Solar Energy Kits and Products 

Solar Made [http://www.solarmade.com/Educational.htm] offers solar energy kits for sale.

New Mexico Solar Energy Association  [http://www.nmsea.org/SunChaser2/Solar_Kits.htm]

Kidwind [www.kidwind.org] is a nonprofit organization dedicated to improving science education while introducing curriculum for wind power. In addition to providing student-geared wind power kits, Kidwind is a great resource for teachers wanting to take accredited workshops on teaching about wind power.
 
Human-powered generators (expensive, but cool!) [www.windstreampower.com]
 
How to build a human-powered bicycle generator for your classroom
[http://www.scienceshareware.com/]

Hydrogen fuel cell kits [http://www.fuelcellstore.com]
 
Real Goods [www.realgoods.com ] offers green products for sale. Real Goods, a leader in California on sustainability and renewable energy education, hosts conferences and fairs at their eco campus.
 
Backwoods Solar [http://www.backwoodssolar.com/] is an established online and catalog distributer for renewable energy equipment and a great source for solar fountain materials.
 
Pitsco Education [www.pitsco.com] supplies scientific materials for teachers.
 
Making Science Fun! [ www.stevespanglerscience.com] provides scientific materials and science project ideas.
 
Edmund Scientific [www.scientificsonline.com] is a source for kits and goodies, with lots of sales and cheap shipping.
 
Science Fairs and Competitions

Open to students K–12, the Igniting Creative Energy challenge [www.ignitingcreativeenergy.org] is an educational competition designed to encourage students to learn more about energy and the environment.
 
The Dell-Winston School Solar Car Challenge [http://www.winstonsolar.org/challenge/] was established ten years ago to help motivate students in science and engineering. The challenge, a part of The Winston School in Dallas, teaches high school students around the world how to build roadworthy solar cars.
 
The Solar Decathlon [http://www.solardecathlon.org/]
 
National Renewal Energy Laboratory Programs

Middle School Science Bowl [http://www.nrel.gov/education/science_bowl.html http://www.scied.science.doe.gov/nsb/default.htm]
 
Junior Solar Sprint and Hydrogen Fuel Cell Car Competition  [http://www.nrel.gov/education/jss_hfc.html]
 
The Internet Science and Technology Fair  [http://istf.ucf.edu] for students in grades 3 through 12, provides an opportunity to research solutions to real-world problems involving science, engineering, and other technical fields of study.